Profile

The association in short...
The German Short Film Association (short: AG Kurzfilm) unites different members working with short films to represent the interests of all makers of short films. It has been existing since 2002.

Members are:
  • organisers of film festivals
  • film academies and universities
  • art academies
  • companies distributing short films
  • companies selling short films
  • film industry institutions
  • cinema industry institutions

Some examples of the functions of the AG Kurzfilm are:
  • the improvements of the awareness for German short films in Germany and in other countries
  • the coordination of the campaign "The Shortest Day - the Short Film Day"
  • realisation of the online short film magazine www.shortfilm.de
  • the promotion of German short films in Germany and abroad
  • the compilation of the annual short film catalogue "German Short Films"
  • the organisation of the Short.Film.Tour. - The German Short Film Award. In Cinemas.
  • the support of media education at schools

The AG Kurzfilm is a contact for politics and film industry as well as a service centre for makers of short films, film festivals and cinemas.


...and a little more extensive
The German Short Film Association – with members including film festivals, film and art schools, short film distributors and sales companies, as well as film industry institutions – is the representational and lobbying body for German short film. Its ambition is to improve the public awareness of German short film both nationally and internationally. In this regard, the association functions as a service centre for makers and producers of shorts, as well as for various short film institutions, and as a contact source on German short film for political bodies, the film industry, cinemas and festivals.
The film policy lobbying is aimed at improving the conditions for short film in terms of production, exploitation and distribution as well as strengthening the position of short film within the film industry. The doubling of the BKM’s production funding for short films to €500,000 and the increase in the maximum funding amount per film to €30,000, which take effect from 2019, is an important step and was achieved not least through the continuous lobbying work by AG Kurzfilm. Furthermore in 2019, the focus of the film policy work will continue to be on improving the presence of short films and their appropriate remuneration on public television.
AG Kurzfilm is also a shareholder of German Films, holds a seat on the administrative council of Germany's main federal film funding body FFA and on the media council of the Deutscher Kulturrat (German Cultural Council).
The second important component of the association's work is the marketing of German short films at home and abroad. One element of the diverse promotion and marketing activities is the annual short film catalogue German Short Films with a current selection of 100 German short films. Additionally, various preview DVDs support the appearances of AG Kurzfilm at the international film festivals and markets in Clermont-Ferrand, Berlin, Cannes and Annecy as well as at national cinema fairs. As an additional service, an online catalogue offers over 700 short films for festivals, curators and media educators to view.
The bilingual online magazine shortfilm.de provides in-depth and inspiring articles about all aspects of short film and its players, supplemented with portraits and short news items from the German and international short film scene, as well as a comprehensive service section with important dates, deadlines and contacts.
The Kurz.Film.Tour., the cinema tour of the German Short Film Award, has been part of AG Kurzfilm's permanent repertoire since 2008 and brings award-winning short films directly to audiences. Since 2012, AG Kurzfilm has also coordinated the nationwide Kurzfilmtag (Short Film Day), which takes place every year on 21st December, the shortest day of the year. During this event, short film is presented in all its creativity, diversity and joy of experimentation, thus strengthening its perception among the general public even beyond the classical screening venues. In 2018, not only were there more events than in the previous year, important initiatives focusing on sustainability were also successfully introduced or further developed. In addition to cinema for children in daycare and for senior citizens, as well as a new inclusive short film programme, new organisers were successfully gained in rural areas.

... those who want even more details ...
... can find extensive information in the activity report 2018.

Activity Report 2017

Selbstdarstellung

Der Bundesverband in Kürze...
Die Arbeitsgemeinschaft Kurzfilm - Bundesverband Deutscher Kurzfilm (kurz: AG Kurzfilm) vertritt die Interessen von Mitgliedern aus dem Bereich Kurzfilm. Sie besteht seit 2002.

Mitglieder sind:
  • Veranstalter von Filmfestivals
  • Filmhochschulen
  • Kunsthochschulen
  • Unternehmen, die Kurzfilme verleihen
  • Unternehmen, die Kurzfilme vertreiben
  • Einrichtungen der Filmbranche
  • Einrichtungen der Kinobranche

Zu den Aufgaben der AG Kurzfilm gehören zum Beispiel:
  • die Verbesserung der Wahrnehmung deutscher Kurzfilme in Deutschland und in anderen Ländern
  • die Koordination der Kampagne „Der kürzeste Tag – der Kurzfilmtag“
  • die Gestaltung und Umsetzung vom Portal www.shortfilm.de
  • die Vermarktung deutscher Kurzfilme in Deutschland und im Ausland
  • die Erstellung von einem jährlichen Katalog für Kurzfilme „German Short Films“
  • die Organisation der Kinotournee „Deutscher Kurzfilmpreis“
  • die Unterstützung der medienpädagogischen Arbeit an Schulen

Die AG Kurzfilm ist Ansprechpartner für Politik und Filmwirtschaft und Dienstleister für Kurzfilmschaffende, Filmfestivals und Filmtheater.

...und etwas ausführlicher...
Die AG Kurzfilm ist die bundesweite Interessenvertretung für den deutschen Kurzfilm. Mitglieder dieses Dachverbandes sind Filmfestivals, Film- und Kunsthochschulen, Kurzfilmverleih- und -vertriebsunternehmen sowie Institutionen der Film- und Kinobranche. Ziel ist es, die öffentliche Wahrneh-mung deutscher Kurzfilme im In- und Ausland zu verbessern. Der Bundesverband versteht sich ebenso als Servicestelle für FilmemacherInnen und ProduzentInnen von Kurzfilmen sowie für diverse Kurzfilminstitutionen, gleichermaßen aber auch als Ansprechpartner für Politik, Filmwirtschaft, Kinos und Filmfestivals.
Die filmpolitische Lobbyarbeit ist darauf ausgerichtet, die Bedingungen für den Kurzfilm im Hinblick auf Produktion, Auswertung und Vertrieb zu verbessern sowie die Position des Kurzfilms innerhalb der Filmbranche zu stärken. Die nicht zuletzt durch die kontinuierliche Lobbyarbeit der AG Kurzfilm erreichte, ab 2019 wirksame, Verdopplung der Produktionsförderung der BKM für Kurzfilme auf 500.000€ jährlich und die Erhöhung der maximalen Fördersumme je Film auf 30.000€ ist ein wichtiger Schritt. Ferner wird auch 2019 ein Schwerpunkt der filmpolitischen Arbeit auf der zu verbessernden Präsenz von Kurzfilmen sowie seiner angemessenen Vergütung im öffentlich-rechtlichen Fernsehen liegen.
Die AG Kurzfilm ist zudem Gesellschafter von German Films und hat einen Sitz im Verwaltungsrat der Filmförderungsanstalt (FFA) sowie im Medienrat des Deutschen Kulturrates.
Der zweite wichtige Bestandteil der Arbeit des Bundesverbandes ist die Vermarktung des deutschen Kurzfilmschaffens im In- und Ausland. Zu den vielfältigen Promotion- und Marketingaktivitäten gehört der alljährlich erscheinende Kurzfilmkatalog German Short Films mit einer aktuellen Auswahl von 100 deutschen Kurzfilmen. Daneben unterstützen verschiedene Sichtungs-DVDs die Auftritte der AG Kurzfilm auf internationalen Filmfestivals und Filmmärkten in Clermont-Ferrand, Berlin, Cannes und Annecy sowie auf nationalen Kinomessen. Als zusätzliche Serviceleistung bietet ein Online-Katalog über 700 Kurzfilme zum Sichten für Festivals, KuratorInnen und MedienpädagogInnen an.
Das zweisprachige Online-Magazin shortfilm.de liefert vertiefende und inspirierende Artikel über und um den Kurzfilm und seine AkteurInnen, ergänzt durch Porträts und Kurzmeldungen aus der deutschen und internationalen Kurzfilmszene sowie einen umfassenden Serviceteil mit wichtigen Terminen, Deadlines und Kontakten.
Die KURZ.FILM.TOUR., die Kinotournee des Deutschen Kurzfilmpreises, gehört seit 2008 zum festen Repertoire der AG Kurzfilm und bringt prämierte Kurzfilme direkt zum Publikum. Seit 2012 koordiniert die AG Kurzfilm zudem den bundesweiten KURZFILMTAG, der jedes Jahr am 21.12., dem kürzesten Tag des Jahres, stattfindet. An diesem Aktionstag wird der Kurzfilm in all seiner Kreativität, Vielfalt und Experimentierfreude präsentiert und so dessen Wahrnehmung in der breiten Öffentlichkeit auch abseits der klassischen Abspielstätten gestärkt. 2018 gab es nicht nur mehr Veranstaltungen als im Vorjahr, es wurden auch wichtige Initiativen, die auf Nachhaltigkeit setzen, mit Erfolg eingeführt oder weiterentwickelt. Neben Kita- und Seniorenkino sowie einem neuen inklusiven Kurzfilmangebot wurden im ländlichen Raum erfolgreich neue Veranstalter gewonnen.

... und wer noch mehr wissen möchte ...
... kann in sich in unserem Tätigkeitsbericht für 2018 ganz detailliert über unsere Aktivitäten informieren.

Tätigkeitsbericht 2018