for Festivals and Curators

A film market stand with many posters. One person is sitting behind a counter. She speaks to another person.
One focus of AG Kurzfilm's work is to improve the international representation of German short film. In this area, AG Kurzfilm works very closely with German Films. The German Short Film Association represents the interests of German short film on the film markets of the major festivals in Clermont-Ferrand, Berlin, Cannes and Annecy.

Every year, the AG Kurzfilm publishes four preview DVDs, which are distributed to industry professionals on these international film markets. Filmmakers who travel to international festivals with the support of AG Kurzfilm also take the DVDs with them and thus ensure the worldwide distribution of AG Kurzfilm materials. This results in numerous enquiries from international festivals inviting films from the DVDs to their competitions or requesting other cooperations.

Another important tool for festivals worldwide is the short film catalogue "German Short Films", which is sent free of charge to national and international film institutes, festivals, multipliers as well as cultural institutes, distribution companies, buyers and television stations. It is also presented at film markets, festivals and other important industry events.

für Festival und Kuratoren

Ein Schwerpunkt der Arbeit der AG Kurzfilm ist die Verbesserung der Außenvertretung des deutschen Kurzfilms. In diesem Bereich arbeitet die AG Kurzfilm sehr eng mit German Films zusammen. So vertritt der Bundesverband die Interessen des deutschen Kurzfilms auf den Filmmärkten der großen Festivals in Clermont-Ferrand, Berlin, Cannes und Annecy.

Jedes Jahr veröffentlicht die AG Kurzfilm vier Sichtungs-DVDs, die auf diesen internationalen Filmmärkten zum Fachpublikum gelangen. FilmemacherInnen, die mit Unterstützung der AG Kurzfilm auf internationale Festivals reisen, nehmen ebenfalls die DVDs mit und sorgen so für die weltweite Verbreitung der Materialien der AG Kurzfilm. Daraus ergeben sich vielfältige Anfragen von internationalen Festivals, die Filme der DVDs in ihre Wettbewerbe einladen oder andere Kooperationen anfragen.

Ein weiteres wichtiges Arbeitsmittel für Festivals weltweit ist der Kurzfilmkatalog „German Short Films“, der kostenlos an nationale und internationale Filminstitute, Festivals, Multiplikatoren sowie Kulturinstitute, Verleih- und Vertriebsunternehmen, Einkäufer und Fernsehsender versendet wird. Außerdem wird er auf Filmmärkten, Festivals und anderen wichtigen Branchenereignissen präsentiert.